Amid the talks of differences, the ruling AIADMK named its presidium chairman E Madhusudhanan as its candidate for the December 21 bye-election to the crucial RK Nagar Assembly constituency which was held by late Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa.Madhusudhanan was the candidate of the O Panneerselvam faction in RK Nagar bypoll in April which was later cancelled by the Election Commission following allegations of malpractices.Madhusudhanan would take on resurgent DMK’s candidate Maruthu Ganesh, sidelined AIADMK leader TTV Dhinakaran, a nephew of jailed VK Sasikala, Jayalalithaa’s niece J Deepa. All the four were in the fray for the previously cancelled bypoll to the seat on April 12.Madhusudhanan’s candidature was announced on Thursday by the party’s Governing Council amid talks of differences in the ruling AIADMK between Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami and Deputy CM Panneerselvam.Madhusudhanan, a veteran AIADMK leader, was a well-known leader in the RK Nagar constituency which he represented in 1991-96, the first tenure of Jayalalithaa as CM. He was also a member of her cabinet then. The December 21 bye-election to the RK Nagar was necessitated following the sudden demise of Jayalalithaa on December 5 last year.Dhinakaran who had lost the claim for the AIADMK and its election symbol two leaves after the Election Commission ruled in the favour of the EPS-OPS led faction last week. Deepa who is claiming to be the political heir of late AIADMK supremo also announced that she would contest the by-poll. Though the RK Nagar constituency is a traditional stronghold of the AIADMK, it would be an interesting contest with the three groups claiming the legacy of the Jayalalithaa fighting against each other.DMK seems to be confident of emerging victorious in the by-poll as it has got the support of opposition parties CPI (M), CPI and Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi, a Dalit party besides its allies Congress and IUML.
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consecwq tetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore
Yogi Adityanath


Join the discussion<!–end of artlbotbor–>

Continue reading: 

AIADMK fields its presidium chairman E Madhusudhanan for RK Nagar bypoll