The counting of votes for the Gujarat Assembly elections will commence at 8 am and most of the results are likely to be in by noon.State’s Chief Electoral Officer BB Swain said that counting of votes for the 182 Assembly seats will take place at 37 centres, including three in Ahmedabad. The Election Commission has set up two counting centres each in Surat and Anand, and one centre in the remaining 30 districts.”The counting of votes will begin at 8 am with counting of postal ballots. The counting of votes cast their Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will commence at 8:30 am once postal ballots have been counted,” Swain said. Initial trends about the winners are likely to emerge within two hours of the counting, and a clear picture is expected by noon.The counting of votes will take place in 182 halls across the 37 counting centres. In each hall, there will be 14 tables for the counting.”On each table, there will be once counting supervisor, one counting assistant, and one micro-observer. In addition, Election Commission has appointed one observer for each constituency,” he said.As many as 10,000 counting staff and 8,000 support staff have been deployed for counting of votes. More than 25,000 security personnel will be on guard during counting of votes.

Join the discussion<!–end of artlbotbor–>

See the original post:

Gujarat elections 2017: Counting of votes to begin at 8 am today, results by noon