The counting of votes for RK Nagar bypoll began at 8 am on Sunday. Over 73 percent voting was recorded in the Radhakrishnan Nagar (RK Nagar) Assembly by-poll, which was held on Thursday, December 21. It is seen as an acid test for the ruling AIADMK, as it is the first election since the death of former chief minister Jayalalithaa.The RK Nagar Assembly constituency fell vacant after the death of late AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa in December 2016. In this high-stake by-poll, the top contenders are AIADMK’s E Madhusudhanan, DMK’s N Marudhu Ganesh, Bharatiya Janata Party’s K Nagarajan and TTV Dhinakaran – who’s contesting as an Independent.Here are the live updates: 8: 15 am: Visuals from a counting center in Chennai​

Join the discussion<!–end of artlbotbor–>

View original article: 

Live updates | Jayalalithaa’s RK Nagar bypoll result: Counting of votes begins, AIADMK legacy at stake