While the construction of a Metro corridor connecting Mumbai to Mira Road-Bhayandar has not yet started, corporators from Mira-Bhayandar Municipal Corporation (MBMC) have already passed a resolution to name several Metro stations after social leaders like Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaj, Sardar Vallabhai Patel, Mahavir Swami, and Maharana Pratap among others.The proposal was put forward by BJP and Shiv Sena corporators, and was tabled in the house last week in the form of a resolution which was subsequently passed. Naresh Gite, Municipal Commissioner, MBMC and Dimple Mehta, BJP corporator and Mayor, MBMC confirmed that the proposal was tabled in the house and passed.Mehta told DNA, “We will now forward the proposal to Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA) who is executing the project. The proposal was made after considering local sentiments and discussions with the residents of Mira Road and Bhayandar. There is nothing else to read into it.”A MMRDA official said, “We proposed names of nine Metro stations according to the locality but the MBMC corporators had a few demands. Hence we asked for their suggestions.”UPS Madan, Metropolitan Commissioner, told DNA, “When we get suggestions, we forward them to the state government (urban development department) which takes the final decision.”Earlier this year, Shiv Sena Minister Ravindra Waikar had demanded that the proposed Metro station at Jogeshwari-Vikhroli Link Road (JVLR) be named Balasaheb Thackeray Trauma Centre.The Mira Road-Bhayandar Metro corridor, also known as Metro-10, is an extension of two Metro corridors planned on Link Road and Western Express Highway, connecting Dahisar and Andheri.Rohidas Patil, BJP corporator, MBMC, said, “It is a purely local demand taking into consideration the sentiments of the local citizens.”WHAT’S IN A NAME?Route: Dahisar Check Naka to Mira Road-BhayandarLength: 9 kmEstimated cost: Rs 3,600 croreStation name by MMRDA: Jankar FactoryProposed by MBMC: Chatrapati Shivaji MaharajStation name by MMRDA: Sai Baba NagarProposed by MBMC: Sardar Vallabhbhai PatelStation name by MMRDA: Deepak HospitalProposed by MBMC: Nanasaheb DharmadhikariStation name by MMRDA: Palika Krida SankulProposed by MBMC: Maharana PratapStation name by MMRDA: Shubhash Chandra Bose GardenProposed by MBMC: Sadanad MaharajStation name by MMRDA: Bhayandar (West)Proposed by MBMC: Mahavir SwamiStation name by MMRDA: Amar PalaceProposed by MBMC: Mira VillageStation name by MMRDA: Pandurang WadiProposed by MBMC: Penkarpada

Join the discussion<!–end of artlbotbor–>

Excerpt from: 

Mira-Bhayandar Municipal Corporation pushes to name Metro stns after Shivaji, Patel, Pratap